Go Fast. Just Turn Left.

A+ R A-

Edmonton Raceway Late Model Finale Does Not Disappoint

E-mail Print

Story By EIR Media

As the engines fired for the first of two features in the crisp Alberta air, defending track champion Greg Moir held a single point advantage over the 2008 champion, Roy Wallace for the NASCAR provincial title. 

EIR 2010 Champions
2010 EIR Champs (left) Roy Wallace NASCAR Provincial Champion and (right) Greg Moir NASCAR Track Champion

2010 Rookie of the year Doug Adams paced the field, but it was Wallace who claimed the lead after the opening laps. As the race progressed, Moir found the rear bumper of the #10 of Wallace but could not find a way past. Wallace held off a hard charging Moir to claim victory and a critical six point lead entering the second feature.

It was this final race of the hard fought season that provided the excitement the fans came to see. The slim points lead held by Wallace put Greg Moir in a must win situation with the championship on the line. As the race progressed, Wallace and Moir cut through traffic from their full inversion starting positions with surgical precision, Moir dogging the #10 of Wallace waiting for his chance to pounce.

Once they reached lapped traffic, Moir made his move, diving to the inside of Wallace in a daring three wide pass that resulted in the two making hard contact as they fought for position. The cars continued down the entire front straight door to door, tires smoking as they battled. When they reached turn one, Wallace was able to regain the slightest advantage as they sped down the back straight.

Once Wallace had his Pontiac in the lead with clear track ahead of him he would not be denied and crossed under the checkered flag two car lengths ahead of Moir, claiming the biggest win of his career.

Thomas Gordon finished third, two time Feature Stock Champion Erica Thiering was fourth and the 2010 NASCAR rookie of the year, Doug Adams rounded out the top five.

With his second place finish, Moir claimed his second consecutive track championship, finishing a mere three points ahead of Wallace in one of the closest battles in track history.

As Provincial Champion Wallace will win $2000 plus an additional $2000 (all U.S. Funds) for his 2nd place in the EIR Track Championship along with a custom made Provincial Championship Driver Uniform.

Greg Moir  takes home $3000 plus 2nd place in the province for an additional $1000 and a Track Championship comemorative helmet from NASCAR.

Doug Adams came in third in the Province winning $500, plus an additional $1200 for 3rd in points at EIR and $1000 for winning as the Rookie of Year. 

All will be honoured at the NASCAR Whelen All American Series Awards banquet held at the NASCAR Hall of fame on December 10th in Charlotte, North Carolina.

Add comment

You must be registered to leave a comment. This is an all ages and family friendly web site. Please be respectful of others and their opinions. Use appropriate language! Violators will be Black Flagged.

Security code


Latest Forum Posts

Mature placement
veraaf60 Nov 17 11:18
Latest spot
twilahf16 Nov 15 22:01
harley spencer - justturnleft.ca
Raxfoodo Nov 14 20:00
Recent plat
annapj69 Nov 14 18:04
Pictures from social networks
evelynrh69 Nov 14 11:49
how long does insomnia last with celexa
KapBalmop Nov 09 12:05




* Field is required